2

Happy Easter

“The true work of art is but a shadow of the divine perfection.” - Michelangelo
2

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Belgium. The day before we left, we stumbled into a concert practice at the Church of Our Blessed Lady in Brussels. They were likely practicing for a performance on Easter Sunday.

The music, singing, tall arches and stained-glass windows inside the church have created something magical. Here is a one-minute video I recorded on my phone.

Michelangelo once said, “The true work of art is but a shadow of divine perfection.” Whenever I see a piece of great art, witness a remarkable performance, or feel awe-struck by a natural wonder, my heart always trembles inside because I feel God’s presence through the presence of beauty.

I picked up a short prayer from the Basilica of the Precious Blood in Bruges, Belgium. I love it because it reminds us of God’s love and sacrifice and shows how we should respond.

Happy Easter!

2 Comments
Confucius Never Said
Confucius Never Said
"Confucius Never Said" is the title of my first book, and I chose to use it for this newsletter because it is always a unique and intriguing title. I share my thoughts on culture, life, politics, and everything about China here, and I hope you find this
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Helen Raleigh